Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: drop down list returning list

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Neophyte iain88's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Posts
    4
    Articles
    0
    Excel Version
    office 365

    drop down list returning list

    HI

    I am looking for a way to insert a list into one cell when certain items are selected from a drop down.

    any assistance would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Magician navic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Europe, Croatia
    Posts
    885
    Articles
    0
    Excel Version
    Excel 2013
    My personal Web Excel Tutorials
    Attention! In the formulas as a delimiter I use a semicolon (; ) if you using my formula, then perhaps you need to use a comma (,)
    Also for a decimal number I use a comma (,) you may need to use point (.) instead of

  3. #3
    Neophyte iain88's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Posts
    4
    Articles
    0
    Excel Version
    office 365
    Quote Originally Posted by navic View Post
    thanks, I can create the list, what i want it to do is-
    based off the selected input from the drop down, then enter relevant data from a list in a single cell.

    is this possible?

  4. #4
    Magician navic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Europe, Croatia
    Posts
    885
    Articles
    0
    Excel Version
    Excel 2013
    I'm sorry but I do not understand you.
    Set an example of your workbook with the expected result here on forum in XLS format.
    btw: Do you think in a dependent drop-down list?
    My personal Web Excel Tutorials
    Attention! In the formulas as a delimiter I use a semicolon (; ) if you using my formula, then perhaps you need to use a comma (,)
    Also for a decimal number I use a comma (,) you may need to use point (.) instead of

  5. #5
    Acolyte Heyjoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    55
    Articles
    0
    Excel Version
    2019
    Iain88,

    The key to solving this problem is to use data validation along with the indirect function.

    In the enclosed workbook select bread, meat, cheese or topping using the drop down arrow.

    Depending which one you choose the appropriate list will be chosen.

    Notice that the last data validation uses the indirect function.

    Also if you look at the names manager you will see that there is a name for each list.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by Heyjoe; 2019-04-17 at 09:27 PM. Reason: Forgot to talk about names.

  6. #6
    Neophyte iain88's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Posts
    4
    Articles
    0
    Excel Version
    office 365
    Here is a shot of what i am trying to achieve, if that helps
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	screen shot.jpg 
Views:	28 
Size:	93.5 KB 
ID:	9048

  7. #7
    Magician navic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Europe, Croatia
    Posts
    885
    Articles
    0
    Excel Version
    Excel 2013
    Quote Originally Posted by iain88 View Post
    Here is a shot...
    Will you please attach a sample Excel workbook? We are not able to work with or manipulate a picture of one and nobody wants to have to recreate your data from scratch.

    1. Make sure that your sample data are REPRESENTATIVE of your real data. The use of unrepresentative data is very frustrating and can lead to long delays in reaching a solution.
    2. Make sure that your desired results are also shown (enter multiple the results manually, more possible options and situations).
    3. Make sure that all confidential data is removed or replaced with dummy data first (e.g. names, addresses, E-mails, etc.).
    4. Try to avoid using merged cells as they cause lots of problems.

    Please pay particular attention to point 2 (above): without an idea of your intended outcomes, it is often very difficult to offer appropriate advice.

    BTW: You may be able to use the VLOOKUP function
    Last edited by navic; 2019-04-18 at 12:51 PM. Reason: added option
    My personal Web Excel Tutorials
    Attention! In the formulas as a delimiter I use a semicolon (; ) if you using my formula, then perhaps you need to use a comma (,)
    Also for a decimal number I use a comma (,) you may need to use point (.) instead of

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •