Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 27 of 27

Thread: Retrieve list of values from array which has duplicates

  1. #21
    Acolyte TTTT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    20
    Articles
    0
    Excel Version
    365


    Register for a FREE account, and/
    or Log in to avoid these ads!

    Quote Originally Posted by p45cal View Post
    Change:
    Code:
    If SourceData(ro, LevelColm) <> SourceData(rw, LevelColm) Then
    to:
    Code:
    If (SourceData(ro, LevelColm) <> SourceData(rw, LevelColm)) Or (SourceData(ro, CatColm) <> SourceData(rw, CatColm)) Then
    to highlight Job Titles which exist on multiple Levels and/or multiple Categories.
    Hi p45cal
    Thank you for doing that, is it possible to have the coding do the following instead?
    - colour code position titles that appear under more than 1 category only? (if they appear under the 1 category but under multiple levels this is ok)

  2. #22
    Super Moderator p45cal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    1,548
    Articles
    0
    Excel Version
    365
    Test changing:
    Code:
    If SourceData(ro, LevelColm) <> SourceData(rw, LevelColm) Then
    to:
    Code:
    If(SourceData(ro, CatColm) <> SourceData(rw, CatColm) Then
    to highlight Job Titles which exist on multiple Categories.

  3. #23
    Acolyte TTTT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    20
    Articles
    0
    Excel Version
    365
    Quote Originally Posted by p45cal View Post
    Test changing:
    Code:
    If SourceData(ro, LevelColm) <> SourceData(rw, LevelColm) Then
    to:
    Code:
    If(SourceData(ro, CatColm) <> SourceData(rw, CatColm) Then
    to highlight Job Titles which exist on multiple Categories.
    Hi p45cal - thank you I tried to change the coding but gives me a compile syntax error?

  4. #24
    Super Moderator p45cal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    1,548
    Articles
    0
    Excel Version
    365
    An extra bracket crept in:
    If SourceData(ro, CatColm) <> SourceData(rw, CatColm) Then

  5. #25
    Acolyte TTTT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    20
    Articles
    0
    Excel Version
    365
    Quote Originally Posted by p45cal View Post
    An extra bracket crept in:
    If SourceData(ro, CatColm) <> SourceData(rw, CatColm) Then
    Hi p45cal - thank you, I think its doing the same thing the original coding did, any way to show only same position title matches across category only? so if they appear more than once within the same category but in multiple levels that is ok to not colour? let me know if I'm not making much sense

  6. #26
    Super Moderator p45cal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    1,548
    Articles
    0
    Excel Version
    365
    I think it is doing what you want it to, highlighting only job titles which co-exist in multiple categories. Which levels they occur in is being ignored.
    The way to see if there is a difference is to use the original coding:
    Code:
    If SourceData(ro, LevelColm) <> SourceData(rw, LevelColm) Then
    and produce the grid. Then copy that grid to a new sheet.
    Change the code to:
    Code:
    If SourceData(ro, CatColm) <> SourceData(rw, CatColm) Then
    run it, let it update the original Grid sheet, then compare the two sheets.

  7. #27
    Acolyte TTTT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    20
    Articles
    0
    Excel Version
    365
    Hi p45cal! You are amazing it works really well thank you so much for your help!
    Last edited by p45cal; 2018-08-01 at 11:28 PM. Reason: removed unnecessary quoting

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •