can I create slicer connections to filter both pivot and regular tables?

joe1250

Reaction score
Excel Version(s)
Hi all, I'm pretty new at this and i'm expecting you to tell me the answer is no, but maybe someone knows a clever work around?

I have a large table and summary power Pivottable... Currently have slicers on the pivot table and would like them to also control the regular table, much in the same way that you can connect a slicer to multiple pivot tables, but I haven't been able to find anything on how to accomplish this... guessing it's not a built in feature?

If the drill down functionality was better i'd just use that after applying my slicer filters to generate the filtered list, but I keep getting the too many filters error...

Does anyone know if it's possible and if so how i can control a pivot table and standard table with a single slicer?

Thanks!

Joe

No not possible can have separate slicers but not the same one controlling both (can only do that with multiple pivot tables). Not sure why you are having such problems with drill down, if need to clean the data would suggest doing it in Get data (Power Query) then pull into pivot table

Thanks Ed, the data should be clean... i am using power query to get and transform the data, then loading into the data model as well as a table in my workbook. All of the Power Pivot tables I've ever made have behaved the same, where if there are more than one or two filters applied, i get a message saying that excel can't drill down because there are too many filters... in this particular Pivot table i have 3 slicers connected and if chose more than one filter in any of them i get this error... I recall the drill down feature in classic pivot tables being a lot more robust in this respect. If you can shed any light on why i might be having these issues if others aren't, I'd very much appreciate it!

Thanks,
Joe

Sam

It is totally possible consider send fake data same data structure and will take a quick look