Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 44

Thread: Looking For Beta Testers

  1. #21
    Super Moderator JeffreyWeir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    357
    Articles
    0


    Register for a FREE account, and/
    or Log in to avoid these ads!

    Hi again Ken. Finally had the chance to have a play around, but while the addin seemed to install okay, I'm having a few problems.
    For instance, if I go to add a folder to my favorites, as per below:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Addin issues 1.jpg 
Views:	25 
Size:	75.3 KB 
ID:	569

    ...then I get an error message "There was an error updating the database", as per the below:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Addin issues 2.png 
Views:	27 
Size:	41.9 KB 
ID:	570

    And I also get an error if trying to add the active workbook to the favorites folder:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	addin issues 3.png 
Views:	23 
Size:	19.1 KB 
ID:	571

    I haven't tried to reinstall or anything yet.

    Any thoughts?

    I'm using Excel 2010.

  2. #22
    Administrator Ken Puls's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Nanaimo, BC, Canada
    Posts
    2,344
    Articles
    57
    Blog Entries
    14
    Excel Version
    Excel Office 365 Insider
    Hi Jeff,

    That's weird... it's like it doesn't have the database available to write to. If you go to File Tools-->Manage Favourites-->Manage Favourites Databases do you see a database listed there at all?
    Ken Puls, FCPA, FCMA, MS MVP

    Learn to Master Your Data at the Power Query Academy (the world's most comprehensive online Power Query training), with my book M is for Data Monkey, or our new Power Query Recipe cards!

    Main Site: http://www.excelguru.ca -||- Blog: http://www.excelguru.ca/blog -||- Forums: http://www.excelguru.ca/forums
    Check out the Excelguru Facebook Fan Page -||- Follow Me on Twitter

    If you've been given VBA code (a macro) for your solution, but don't know where to put it, CLICK HERE.

  3. #23
    Super Moderator JeffreyWeir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    357
    Articles
    0
    Hi Ken. Yes, and also the likely problem:

    Users\Jeff\AppData\Local\Temp\Temp1_XLGFileTools.zip\XLGFileTools-Jeff.accdb

  4. #24
    Administrator Ken Puls's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Nanaimo, BC, Canada
    Posts
    2,344
    Articles
    57
    Blog Entries
    14
    Excel Version
    Excel Office 365 Insider
    Well... I must admit that I never expected anyone to try and run it from inside the Zip file.
    Ken Puls, FCPA, FCMA, MS MVP

    Learn to Master Your Data at the Power Query Academy (the world's most comprehensive online Power Query training), with my book M is for Data Monkey, or our new Power Query Recipe cards!

    Main Site: http://www.excelguru.ca -||- Blog: http://www.excelguru.ca/blog -||- Forums: http://www.excelguru.ca/forums
    Check out the Excelguru Facebook Fan Page -||- Follow Me on Twitter

    If you've been given VBA code (a macro) for your solution, but don't know where to put it, CLICK HERE.

  5. #25
    Super Moderator JeffreyWeir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    357
    Articles
    0
    Three words, Ken...Lowest Common Denominator

  6. #26
    Administrator Ken Puls's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Nanaimo, BC, Canada
    Posts
    2,344
    Articles
    57
    Blog Entries
    14
    Excel Version
    Excel Office 365 Insider
    So here's a question... would you:
    -Ignore this issue
    -Code a check in that checks if the addin is running from a zip file
    -Use something like InnoSetup to create a distributable exe file

    I've always avoided the last, as that has the possibility of prohibting some users from being able to install without IT help. And the second never occured to me until you brought it up.
    Ken Puls, FCPA, FCMA, MS MVP

    Learn to Master Your Data at the Power Query Academy (the world's most comprehensive online Power Query training), with my book M is for Data Monkey, or our new Power Query Recipe cards!

    Main Site: http://www.excelguru.ca -||- Blog: http://www.excelguru.ca/blog -||- Forums: http://www.excelguru.ca/forums
    Check out the Excelguru Facebook Fan Page -||- Follow Me on Twitter

    If you've been given VBA code (a macro) for your solution, but don't know where to put it, CLICK HERE.

  7. #27
    Super Moderator JeffreyWeir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    357
    Articles
    0
    I guess the 2nd one is the way to go. To tell you the truth, I often have problems just installing add-ins, let alone programming them. I install them so infrequently, that I forget exactly what the heck I'm supposed to be doing.

    I can't seem to get your addin pointing to the right place. The addi-in is certainly saved somewhere it should be:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Addin issues 4.jpg 
Views:	23 
Size:	88.1 KB 
ID:	574

    I don't know why the database is in the temp file. I tried uninstalling and reinstalling the addin, launching it via explorer, overwriting the path specified in your addin, but either it simply doesn't work or I'm an even lower common denominator than I thought.

    Maybe we could skype, and I could share my desktop with you so we could walk through it together? Skype ID is JeffreyWeir.

  8. #28
    Administrator Ken Puls's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Nanaimo, BC, Canada
    Posts
    2,344
    Articles
    57
    Blog Entries
    14
    Excel Version
    Excel Office 365 Insider
    Hi Jeff,

    Try this...

    -Go to File Tools-->Configure Options-->Options
    -Click Clear Database List
    -Click Done
    -Restart Excel

    I think what's happened is that you installed it from the zip file first. It automatically creates a database in the same folder as the addin location and puts that in the registry. By clearing the list, then re-opening Excel (or unloading/reloading the addin) it should fix it for you.

    Let me know,
    Ken Puls, FCPA, FCMA, MS MVP

    Learn to Master Your Data at the Power Query Academy (the world's most comprehensive online Power Query training), with my book M is for Data Monkey, or our new Power Query Recipe cards!

    Main Site: http://www.excelguru.ca -||- Blog: http://www.excelguru.ca/blog -||- Forums: http://www.excelguru.ca/forums
    Check out the Excelguru Facebook Fan Page -||- Follow Me on Twitter

    If you've been given VBA code (a macro) for your solution, but don't know where to put it, CLICK HERE.

  9. #29
    Super Moderator JeffreyWeir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    357
    Articles
    0
    Hi Ken. I did all that, and the addin is now pointing towards C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Office\Office14\ADDINS\XLGFileTools-Jeff.accdb but there is no such database in that folder. I even tried uninstalling the addin, deleting it off my system, downloading a new one, then reinstalling, but it just doesn't seem to create that database. Any thoughts?

  10. #30
    Administrator Ken Puls's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Nanaimo, BC, Canada
    Posts
    2,344
    Articles
    57
    Blog Entries
    14
    Excel Version
    Excel Office 365 Insider
    Hi Jeff,

    Let's try clearing this thing out completely...
    • Close Excel
    • Delete the Add-in from wherever you saved it
    • Delete any database copies that you find as well
    • Open Excel and let it "Remove the add-in from the list" when prompted (you may have to go to the add-ins dialog to trigger that.)
    • Close Excel
    • Re-open Excel to confirm that it is really gone
    • Close Excel


    Now, let's also go and gong all the registry keys too, just to be safe. Standard caveats apply to registry edits... delete anything else at your own risk!
    • Press Windows+R to bring up the Run dialog
    • Type regedit and press enter
    • Browse to HKey_Current_User\Software\VB and VBA Program Settings\Excelguru
    • Delete the entire FileTools folder


    Once that's done, download a new copy of the add-in and save it in a data directory somewhere... say in "My Documents\Excelguru" or something. I'd avoid any of the systems directories. Then
    • Open Excel
    • Go to the add-ins dialog
    • Browse to the add-in in the directory you saved it in
    • If it asks if you want to copy it, I'd say no. (Just run it from where it is, and this makes it easy to find your database.)


    Let me know if that helps. If not I'd be happy to arrange a skype/livemeeting with you to figure out what's going on.
    Ken Puls, FCPA, FCMA, MS MVP

    Learn to Master Your Data at the Power Query Academy (the world's most comprehensive online Power Query training), with my book M is for Data Monkey, or our new Power Query Recipe cards!

    Main Site: http://www.excelguru.ca -||- Blog: http://www.excelguru.ca/blog -||- Forums: http://www.excelguru.ca/forums
    Check out the Excelguru Facebook Fan Page -||- Follow Me on Twitter

    If you've been given VBA code (a macro) for your solution, but don't know where to put it, CLICK HERE.

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •