Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: Personal Project - Few issues and Questions

Personal Project - Few issues and Questions

Register for a FREE account, and/
    or Log in to avoid these ads!

Hey all.

New here, and very new to VBA. I am not a programmer, at all. Self taught CSS/HTML long long ago which I barely know anymore, just to give you a background to my knowledge. So my basic understanding is very limited.

I am writing a little "companion app" in Excel/VBA that is an overlay in a game I play. Using google, forums, bits and pieces I have found I have been able to make a decent start, but have ran into a few glitches I am hoping I can find some solutions for.

The game is Elite Dangerous, in it you fly spaceships and part of the game is going on Trade runs to make money. I am constantly alt-tabbing out to look at my spreadsheet of data which shows me where to go in the game and then what to buy and sell in each location. So I have to alt-tab...select the next place, copy the name, alt-tab back, paste it in etc etc

Therefore, this app runs over the game (I haven't implemented the always on top yet) so I can see all this info in game without alt tabbing. I am able to cycle through the destinations and get all my info quickly, and even edit my routes right in game (rather than editing a table in excel)

So far so good, but a couple issues (for starters)

There are Buttons for Updating a record, Saving a New Record and Deleting a Record. Right now it works properly with Updating and Deleting, however when I Save a new Record it is placing that new record 1 row too far down. I thought I had solved it but removing a +1 in some of the VBA but then Updating records was saving 1 too high. You will have to look at the example to understand. Just type in some data and click save new record, you'll notice it leaves a gap in the table.