Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: Article: Deploying Add-ins in a Network Environment

  1. #11
    Administrator Ken Puls's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Nanaimo, BC, Canada
    Posts
    2,324
    Articles
    57
    Blog Entries
    14
    Excel Version
    Excel Office 365 Insider


    Register for a FREE account, and/
    or Log in to avoid these ads!

    Hi bunjake,

    I think the issue is on your end, to be honest. I'm curious though... are you using Excel 2016, and if so, what is the build number under Help --> Account? I've seen some weird stuff happen with Excel 2016 in the past, but haven't noticed them on my machine in a while. (I run the Insider build...)
    Ken Puls, FCPA, FCMA, MS MVP

    Learn to Master Your Data at the Power Query Academy (the world's most comprehensive online Power Query training), with my book M is for Data Monkey, or our new Power Query Recipe cards!

    Main Site: http://www.excelguru.ca -||- Blog: http://www.excelguru.ca/blog -||- Forums: http://www.excelguru.ca/forums
    Check out the Excelguru Facebook Fan Page -||- Follow Me on Twitter

    If you've been given VBA code (a macro) for your solution, but don't know where to put it, CLICK HERE.

  2. #12
    Neophyte Jim Rids's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    1
    Articles
    0
    Excel Version
    2016
    Ken,
    thanks for the steps here. This is so very helpful. Quick query on the active workbook versus this workbook. How come we want to use active? I would thing by using thisworkbook it would ensure it runs in the right workbook regardless of what is excel(if multiple instances are open) is currently active? Thanks again for the detailed steps. This is great and still very relevant (12 years later!) awesome.

  3. #13
    Administrator Ken Puls's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Nanaimo, BC, Canada
    Posts
    2,324
    Articles
    57
    Blog Entries
    14
    Excel Version
    Excel Office 365 Insider
    Hi Jim,

    ThisWorkbook refers to the workbook that holds the code. Remember that turning your workbook into an add-in actually hides it from view so that no one can see any of the worksheets.
    ActiveWorkbook refers to the workbook that is active and visible to the end user.

    Hope that helps!
    Ken Puls, FCPA, FCMA, MS MVP

    Learn to Master Your Data at the Power Query Academy (the world's most comprehensive online Power Query training), with my book M is for Data Monkey, or our new Power Query Recipe cards!

    Main Site: http://www.excelguru.ca -||- Blog: http://www.excelguru.ca/blog -||- Forums: http://www.excelguru.ca/forums
    Check out the Excelguru Facebook Fan Page -||- Follow Me on Twitter

    If you've been given VBA code (a macro) for your solution, but don't know where to put it, CLICK HERE.

  4. #14
    Neophyte _Richie_'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    1
    Articles
    0
    Excel Version
    2013
    Hi Ken,

    Just wanted to say a big THANK YOU for this article. I've just deployed an add-in at work on a network and the guidance that you have provided is invaluable.

    Confession: Before I came across your article I went down the wrong route and ended-up with an add-in listed in the add-in menu even though it had been physically removed. Unticking the add-in and closing Excel, then re-opening and selecting it to get the 'delete' option seemed to work but the listing appeared again the next time Excel was opened. I eventually got rid of it following the guidance by Jim Gordon MVP here: https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/...a-f3f856883357

    Thanks again,
    Richie
    Last edited by _Richie_; 2019-03-11 at 01:17 PM. Reason: Typo

  5. #15
    Neophyte Knekse's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    2
    Articles
    0
    Excel Version
    Microsoft Office 365 ProPlus
    Hi Ken

    Great article Just what I was looking for, but solving this issue led me to another problem (as is often the case). So I have a couple of questions I was hoping you could help me with:
    - After adding the Add-in to the users worksheet(s), how do you gain access the subs/function in the Add-in? Do you set a reference, use the Application.run-method og something completely difference?
    - Probably linked to the above question: How do you work with you local development copy, and testing it, when the end user runs it through one of the methods above?

    Thanks for a great article,
    Knekse

  6. #16
    Administrator Ken Puls's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Nanaimo, BC, Canada
    Posts
    2,324
    Articles
    57
    Blog Entries
    14
    Excel Version
    Excel Office 365 Insider
    Hi Kneske,

    When I build the add-in, I always provide a custom ribbon with the entry points. That makes it super easy for the user to engage with it. If you need a resource for Ribbon development, you might want to check out my book: https://www.excelguru.ca/content.php...ey-Publishing)
    Ken Puls, FCPA, FCMA, MS MVP

    Learn to Master Your Data at the Power Query Academy (the world's most comprehensive online Power Query training), with my book M is for Data Monkey, or our new Power Query Recipe cards!

    Main Site: http://www.excelguru.ca -||- Blog: http://www.excelguru.ca/blog -||- Forums: http://www.excelguru.ca/forums
    Check out the Excelguru Facebook Fan Page -||- Follow Me on Twitter

    If you've been given VBA code (a macro) for your solution, but don't know where to put it, CLICK HERE.

  7. #17
    Neophyte Knekse's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    2
    Articles
    0
    Excel Version
    Microsoft Office 365 ProPlus
    Quote Originally Posted by Ken Puls View Post
    Hi Kneske,

    When I build the add-in, I always provide a custom ribbon with the entry points. That makes it super easy for the user to engage with it. If you need a resource for Ribbon development, you might want to check out my book: https://www.excelguru.ca/content.php...ey-Publishing)
    Hi Ken

    Thank you for the answer. A ribbon is not really what I am aiming for. Among others, I am making subs with generic functionalities that the user should be able to call from their own vba code. This is why I was wondering how set this up?

    BR Jeppe

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •