Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Locking files to the office

Locking files to the office

Register for a FREE account, and/
    or Log in to avoid these ads!

I am by no means an expert at programming excel or macros, but I have tooled my way through some issues that I was able to solve with some creative macros. However, my problem now is that I have found out that the file i have created have been leaked to other companies in my industry and they are using them without permission. I am wondering if there is a way to lock an excel file to only open if it is connected to my work network. I have figured out a way to use the Auto_Open macro with some help from Ken's post of FileFolderExist (Kudos to Ken) to verify the existence of a file on the network before opening, and at the same point, it will close excel if it does not find that file. The problem I am running into is the work-around by pressing Shift while opening the file through the excel program, thus bypassing my verification process, and allowing them to view/etc the excel file that I have spent countless hours creating and updating. I would just put a password on the file to open, but apparently the previous password had been leaked as well, so I am looking for something that I can control. Is there a feature that I am missing that would be able to accomplish this? BTW, this would have to be compatible with Excel 2002 and up, since some of my computers are running that version still.

I appreciate any help or input on this.

Thank you,
    John

Articles
    Excel is not secure. Passwords can be cracked with a very simple macro...all the user needs to do is access the VBA window of the file and cut some code in and run it. See <link removed>