Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Formula doesn't work in one computer but in other works

  1. #1

    Angry Formula doesn't work in one computer but in other works



    Register for a FREE account, and/
    or Log in to avoid these ads!

    Hello:
    Im trying to use this simple formula =A1-B1 but the result is value. The cells are in general and another complicated formulas do work. In order to complete my job I gotta go to another computer and create the formula if I need to do a subtraction (-). I fixed the Whole office and I also uninstalled the office but still doesn't work.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator NBVC's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Mississauga, Canada
    Posts
    1,436
    Articles
    0
    Excel Version
    Excel 2016
    If you enter these formulas in 2 separate cells, =Len(A1) and =Len(B1) do they result in the number of characters you see in A1 and B1?


  3. #3

  4. #4
    Super Moderator NBVC's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Mississauga, Canada
    Posts
    1,436
    Articles
    0
    Excel Version
    Excel 2016
    I think then we would need to see a sample workbook showing the problem.....


  5. #5
    The thing is that if I send you the workbook, in your computer gonna work but not in mine. I don't know whats happening with that type of formula.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator NBVC's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Mississauga, Canada
    Posts
    1,436
    Articles
    0
    Excel Version
    Excel 2016
    It's hard to diagnose without seeing it, if you say all the other formulas are working. If they are, I'd say that somehow A1 or B1 has a hidden character or text which would cause the #VALUE! error to occur.


  7. #7
    Ok. Here is the file. Let me tell you another thing, no matter which cell I use, or worksheet or workbook, it always give me the same error. I think is an Excel problem but I don't know. I just can subtract this way.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  8. #8
    Super Moderator NBVC's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Mississauga, Canada
    Posts
    1,436
    Articles
    0
    Excel Version
    Excel 2016
    When I open the book, I see in C1, =A1,B1 and I see the #VALUE! error. It should be in C1, =A1-B1. When I change it I see a result of 1.

    The same is seen in I7.


  9. #9
    that's what I have in the formula let me show u with this print screen
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	book1.JPG 
Views:	72 
Size:	44.7 KB 
ID:	1211  

  10. #10
    Super Moderator NBVC's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Mississauga, Canada
    Posts
    1,436
    Articles
    0
    Excel Version
    Excel 2016
    Hmm, I wonder why your sheet would convert to =A1,B1 when I open it.... stumping me....


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •