Help needed - I think I need VBA

KR1234

Reaction score
Hi, I'm a novice so please excuse my ignorance. I have a spreadsheet of data with field names in column A that aren't particularly user friendly as these come from a third party source. I would like to insert a column automatically after these values and then do some kind of lookup to insert a more meaningful description in the cell next to it. The data in columns C, D, E etc need to be maintained in the same rows. I have a list of field names that could be received in column A, but they arent necessarily in the same order etc. So would need to look up the whole column. Ideally - i would like to return the value "UNMAPPED" into Column B if I dont have a match for it in my look up - this is a nice to have & not a necessity. Any help would be greatly appreciatedCheersK

Attachments

• Excel Help.xlsx
    9.3 KB · Views: 15
Okay, so a couple of things here.

First, I copied your table of Unfriendly and Friendly names to a new sheet, then set it up as a Table (Home->Format as Table). I then changed the name on the table to "tblSensible" (Click in the table then go tot he TableTools tab to change the table name)

Next I added this macro:

Code:
Sub InsertColumn()
    With ActiveSheet
        .Columns("B:B").Insert Shift:=xlToRight
        .Range("B2:B" & .Range("A" & .Rows.Count).End(xlUp).Row).FormulaR1C1 = "=IFERROR(VLOOKUP(RC[-1],tblSensible[#All],2,FALSE),""Not Mapped"")"
    End With

End Sub

This does assume that the data starts in row 2 of the worksheet and column B needs to be updated. IF that's not the case, we'll need to update the references to columns B and A in the code.

Re-worked sample attached.

Attachments

• Excel Help.xlsm
    20.6 KB · Views: 16
Thanks - one more thing