New to VBA - Basic Macro Help Needed

Peg

Reaction score
Excel Version(s)
Windows 10
Hello, I am new to VBA and this forum. I am hoping someone has a moment to help me?

The macro, below, is executed by clicking one of three choices in a combobox. The combobox is linked to cell "L5". Each time one of the options (Turn, River, Other) is chosen, the result in cell "O14 is the same...the value from the last line executed under "Else".
I have tested the "Index" functions (one at a time) in the Master sheet formula bar, and the results were correct for each. Your time and assistance is appreciated.

Code:
Sub StreetChoice()

'To match street choice to options

If Range("L5") = "Turn" Then
        Range("O14").Value = "= Index(G58:G80,match(I6,E58:E80,0))"

ElseIf Range("L5") = "River" Then
        Range("O14").Value = "= Index(H58:H80,match(I6,E58:E80,0))"

Else
        Range("O14").Value = "= Index(I58:I80,match(I6,E58:E80,0))"

End If

End Sub

Last edited by a moderator:
Let's say you are using Sheet 1 for this macro.

Paste the macro into the Sheet1 Module :

Code:
Option Explicit

Private Sub Worksheet_SelectionChange(ByVal Target As Range)
'To match street choice to options

If Range("L5") = "Turn" Then
    Range("O14").Value = "= Index(G58:G80,match(I6,E58:E80,0))"

ElseIf Range("L5") = "River" Then
    Range("O14").Value = "= Index(H58:H80,match(I6,E58:E80,0))"

Else
    Range("O14").Value = "= Index(I58:I80,match(I6,E58:E80,0))"

End If

End Sub

Not certain what data your formulas are referencing so I could not fully test the macro.

Thank you, Logit. I pasted the macro into the "Master" sheet module, as a selection change, where the macro is being used with still the same "Else" result. Any other ideas as to why it is not "seeing" the other options?

Please post your workbook for review. You will need to click on the GO ADVANCED button, lower right corner of the REPLY window.