Count of Files in a Folder - File Extension Type wise

buvanamali

Reaction score
Excel Version(s)
Dear Sir / Madam

I am a newbie to VBA macros. I found the following macro on the internet, which is very much useful, accurate and perfect. As I am not conversant with VBA, I request you to help me in getting the count of files in a folder file extension type wise as attached in the sample workbook.

Thanks in Advance

Buvanamali

Code:
Function CountFiles_FolderAndSubFolders(strFolder As String, Optional strExt As String) As Double
'Original Author: Ken Puls (www.excelguru.ca)
'http://www.excelguru.ca/content.php?139-Count-Files-%28with-a-specific-extension-or-not%29-in-a-folder-and-subfolders
Dim objFSO As Object
Dim objFolder As Object
Dim objFile As Object
Dim objSubFolder As Object
Dim PosOfLastDot As Long
Dim IncludeSubFolders As Boolean

On Error GoTo EarlyExit
Set objFSO = CreateObject("Scripting.FileSystemObject")
Set objFolder = objFSO.GetFolder(strFolder)

For Each objFile In objFolder.Files
    PosOfLastDot = InStrRev(objFile, ".") 'to find the position of the last dot
        If (objFile.Attributes And vbHidden) = False Then 'if you list your documents folder (windows 7). there is hidden folders with shortcut arrows, will be skipped, but with a message "Permission denied", and carry on
            If strExt = "" Or (UCase(Right(objFile.path, (Len(objFile.path) - InStrRev(objFile.path, ".")))) = UCase(strExt)) Then
                CountFiles_FolderAndSubFolders = CountFiles_FolderAndSubFolders + 1
            Else
                If Right(objFile, Len(objFile) - PosOfLastDot) = strExt Or (UCase(Right(objFile.path, (Len(objFile.path) - InStrRev(objFile.path, ".")))) = UCase(strExt)) Then
                    CountFiles_FolderAndSubFolders = CountFiles_FolderAndSubFolders + 1
                End If
            End If
        End If
    Next objFile

IncludeSubFolders = True 'change to False if you want to list only the parent folder