Unpivot some columns but retain others (variable data types)

ramakant

Reaction score
Excel Version(s)
office 365
hi all,

I'm a power BI newbie and trying to get a handle on unpivoting multi-header columns. I followed the tips mentioned on the well detailed page (https://www.newtechdojo.com/unpivot-columns-in-power-bi/#dualrow) . However, it slightly more complicated than the one shown on the page.

Link to the data set on G Drive--> https://drive.google.com/open?id=1WOI2NmWiPXGCeHs268VZLmKLiI0eA9Mx

To summarise the problem statement. My current dataset sits something like this (there are around 25 markets)

market01 market 02
channeldatetitleprogrammedatatype1...datatype6 datatype1...datatype6

the required output would need to look this:

channeldatetitleprogramemarketdatatype1datatype2datatype3...dataype6
market01
market01
market02
market02

the normal unpivot solutions all are pointing in the direction where the 6 dataypes on the right hand side get merged into a single column. only problem with that approach is they are all different datatypes (numeric, time etc)

I believe custom coding in M holds some magic to unlock this mystery. I have very little knowledge of M and am knocking on this forum's doors. How does one go about doing this?

Edit: I must also mention that I am dealing with an extremely large excel sheets here. These are massive data dumps around 600MB of excel files each. Hence I am wary of not grinding my machine to a halt with excessive & undesirable unpivot queries. I tried it doing unpivotting one bunch of column at a time but the number of rows increasing exponentially. This is what leads me to believe that M coding might do the trick.

I think, my answer was a little bit to early !

Last edited:
But now it looks good.

Probably PQ experts will call it a kind of sledgehammer method, but the result should be right.

Attachments

• xlguru - Unpivot some columns but retain others (variable data types) (PQ).xlsx
    155.5 KB · Views: 12