Cannot install Monkey Tools

blameitonbob

Reaction score
Excel Version(s)
I received an error trying to install the two week trial of Monkey Tools. The text reads "Your administrator has blocked this application because it potentially poses a security risk to your computer." See the attached document.

I am a domain administrator and the administrator for my computer. However, I don't know whether this message is coming form a group policy or some other source. Has anyone seen this and been able to solve the problem?

Bob Taylor
Seattle

Attachments

• Installing Monkey Tools.docx
    34 KB · Views: 6
Hi Bob,

This one is a super frustrating one to us as developers. We have done everything we can to avoid this, but there is a policy set on your computer to block installation of software from the internet. It's intended to prevent bad actors from installing from the web. The only method we have to combat this is to purchase and apply a digital certificate to our software (which we've done) so that you can verify we are who we say we are. Unfortunately, it appears that this is not enough to "trust" our installer.

The good news is that it is possible to remove this block (temporarily or permanently). The steps to resolve it are shown in Chapter 15 of the Installation and Feature guide:

Monkey Tools Install Guide said:
It is possible that you’ll receive an error attempting to install Monkey Tools from the web URL. Should this happen it may be because you have a policy in place that blocks installing software from the internet.
To enable installation:

• Press the Windows key on your keyboard
• Type RegEdit and open the Registry Editor
• Browse to:
Code:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\MICROSOFT\.NETFramework\Security\Trus tManager\PromptingLevel\Internet
• Change the key to Enabled instead of Disabled
• Close the Registry Editor

Monkey Tools should now install from the web link without issue.