Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Power Query not loading data - Stalling

  1. #1
    Seeker tlh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    5
    Articles
    0
    Excel Version
    Office 365

    Power Query not loading data - Stalling



    Register for a FREE account, and/
    or Log in to avoid these ads!

    Recently I have had both relatively small power queries (180 rows, 10 lines of M code) and larger (approx. 6000 rows, 25 lines of M code) stall at the load stage. It happened first with the larger query and I thought it had to do with the size of the query. But it has now happened with smaller queries as well. I have never successfully loaded the above queries, but can load other queries just fine.

    If it is loaded to a sheet, it will load a small portion of the query (15% of the query output rows, the last row consists of 3 periods in each column and then stall without loading anymore data. The Workbook Queries status bar shows that the query is still loading, but never goes anywhere.

    The same result if I load it to the data model without anything at all showing up in the data model.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Administrator AliGW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Ipswich, Suffolk, England
    Posts
    1,282
    Articles
    0
    Excel Version
    Office 365 Subscription
    Welcome to the forum.

    Please attach a sample workbook that shows this problem.
    Ali
    Enthusiastic self-taught user of MS Excel!

  3. #3
    Seeker tlh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    5
    Articles
    0
    Excel Version
    Office 365
    Thanks!

    See attached.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  4. #4
    Administrator AliGW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Ipswich, Suffolk, England
    Posts
    1,282
    Articles
    0
    Excel Version
    Office 365 Subscription
    I clicked on the query error icon and, when asked, gave it a load destination. Seems OK.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Ali
    Enthusiastic self-taught user of MS Excel!

  5. #5
    Super Moderator Bob Phillips's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    1,682
    Articles
    0
    Excel Version
    O365
    Quote Originally Posted by AliGW View Post
    I clicked on the query error icon and, when asked, gave it a load destination. Seems OK.
    Same here.

  6. #6
    Seeker tlh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    5
    Articles
    0
    Excel Version
    Office 365
    I was afraid of that, a random issue when I need data in a timely manner. I have tried a computer restart and had the same results. I have other previously created data models with 7-10 large queries and am able to load data in those with no issues.

    Here's a screen grab illustrating what I'm seeing. https://www.dropbox.com/s/xlylf3f6ph...0grab.png?dl=0

    Unless you have any other suggestions, I may have to chalk this one up to odd MS issue.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •