Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Automatically refresh workbook with a Power Query to another file

  1. #1
    Acolyte albertan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    22
    Articles
    0
    Excel Version
    2013

    Automatically refresh workbook with a Power Query to another file



    Register for a FREE account, and/
    or Log in to avoid these ads!

    Hello,
    I have a file which is linked to another file thought a Power Query. I have a macro that refreshes the workbook upon the opening the file.

    Is there a way for me to write an automated script so that it can automatically refresh this workbook every 2 weeks?

    Any comments are appreciated. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Conjurer alansidman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    Steamboat Springs
    Posts
    175
    Articles
    0
    Excel Version
    2019
    Click on the Connections Icon on the PQ tab and modify.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.JPG 
Views:	9 
Size:	60.2 KB 
ID:	9326  

  3. #3
    Acolyte albertan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    22
    Articles
    0
    Excel Version
    2013
    Thank you for your reply. I need to clarify my question. I need to schedule the automated refresh (say on a weekly basis). I'm trying to get Task Scheduler work based on .bat and .vbs files. However, I'm having issues accessing a .bat file unless it is on a C drive.

  4. #4
    Acolyte El Cid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Greenville, SC
    Posts
    50
    Articles
    0
    Excel Version
    Excel 2016
    https://www.mjtnet.com/pricing.htm
    Macro Scheduler Pro. Probably the cheapest one out there.

  5. #5
    Acolyte El Cid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Greenville, SC
    Posts
    50
    Articles
    0
    Excel Version
    Excel 2016

  6. #6
    Acolyte Nick Burns's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    60
    Articles
    0
    Excel Version
    Office 365
    Does the .BAT file have to be on a network drive?

    I automate a lot of Excel macros with Task Scheduler.
    Oh... by the way, YOU'RE WELCOME!

  7. #7
    Acolyte El Cid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Greenville, SC
    Posts
    50
    Articles
    0
    Excel Version
    Excel 2016
    https://superuser.com/questions/6409...k-drive#641962
    I don’t think the .bat or .cmd file can be on a network drive since task scheduler is looking solely on the local machine for the file to start the process. As to accessing a network drive, this link discusses a couple of options.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •