Flattening tree records

alexcortbawi

Reaction score
I am new to power query and am trying to solve a problem for a friend. Any help would be highly appreciated. I have a folder containing text files generated by an old sybase database that contain pertinent component proportions for each batch produced including batch number and date of production (See ExcelguruquerytxtFile). I have been able to reach half way through the shaping of the data but have not been able to flatten the required parameters to generate pertinent pivottables.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Attachments

• ExcelGuruQueryTxtFile.png
    ExcelGuruQueryTxtFile.png
    50.3 KB · Views: 34
  • ExcelGuruQuery.jpg
    ExcelGuruQuery.jpg
    98.1 KB · Views: 22
You need to isolate the header values that contain the batch nbr, date and recipe. Repeat the following for batch and recipe, using date as an example:

1. Make a copy of Column2 (column with date in it),
2. Change type of Column2 - Copy to text (yes text, not date or date-time),

3. Highlight/Select Column2 - Copy, on the transform ribbon, in the Text Column area, select the dropdown, Extract and choose length,
("Column2 - Copy" will transform into values showing the length of what is displayed in Column2!)

4. Add a conditional custom column: if "Column2 - Copy" "is more than" (value = ) 6 then (Output = ) Column2, Otherwise "null"
(The value 6 can be changed to whatever you think will isolate the date value from all others.
(Be sure the "Otherwise" value is null, otherwise the "fill down" step (Step 5) will not work.)

5. Highlight/Select "Custom" column, on the transform ribbon, fill down,
6. Rename to Date field,
7. Change type to Date-time
(All the KOP1 row values in custom will be wrong, but don't worry...

Repeat Steps 1-7 for Date, Batch & Recipe
Then highlight Column1, and de-select all the KOP rows.
The remaining MVCH rows will have be "flattened" and will have columns for with the correct Date, Batch & recipe.