How to updated pivot tables on different tabs from user form parameters?

dovermac

Reaction score
Hello,
I'm brand new to vba only a few weeks actually. So here is my scenario. This is a macro-enabled workbook for the Board of Education. The workbook is 31MB and is at box.com. I can send the link. Click on View on the top and then look to the right on the ribbon. Click on the Parameter Selection icon and you will see the attached screenshot.

This allows the user to select the entity to examine. If they do not select an ISD in combobox1, it should default to everything. If they select an ISD like Oakland Schools above, but nothing in Combobox2 than all School Districts will be included and so on. Once they have made their selection, they click OK. Now, what hopefully should happen is the data for their selection should be pulled from the “Combined” tab and put in the Pivot Tables on the Working Pivot Tables tab. Once that is done, another function should take the data from these Pivot tables and “refresh” the graphs and charts on the Summary tab at the front of the workbook. I hate Pivot tables as I've never really "got" them so to speak.

One thing I’m still trying to correct is the data that populates this workbook comes from a web site that must be downloaded manually (don’t ask). It comes down as csv. You can see from the image above the “code” columns should be 5 characters with leading zeroes. Unfortunately, the source data is not that way. I have saved the source file as xlsm, formatted these code columns as custom since text won’t work and imported them into the workbook. The data moved over to the Pivot Tables (manually done to this point) does not maintain the leading zeroes.

Any help would be greatly appreciated as I'm in over my head clearly.

Attachments

• Parameter Selection.jpg
    Parameter Selection.jpg
    91.7 KB · Views: 49