PDA

View Full Version : Gravatar Support Added



Ken Puls
2011-06-02, 06:49 AM
As per Oli's (http://www.excelguru.ca/forums/member.php?197-music43) request, I have added Gravatar (Globally Recognized Avatar) support on the forums.

If you have a Gravatar associated with the email account you used to sign up, it should be working now. (If you'd like to override it for this site, just upload an avatar here and it will use that instead.)

If you don't have a Gravatar, and want one, you can sign up at www.gravatar.com (http://www.gravatar.com)

For those without a Gravatar, your default icon will be a cartoon face of some kind. You can also upload your own avatar still if you don't like the default, and don't want to set up a Gravatar account.

:)

Ken Puls
2011-06-03, 06:27 PM
Actually, this is kind of neat. I hooked up a Gravatar with the image you see at left. It's now pulling it in to a few of the different blogs that I comment on. I always wondered how people got their pictures there!

Simon Lloyd
2011-06-03, 06:54 PM
You have that as your gravatar??? i thought it was something you keep on the fireplace to keep the kids from the fire :):):)

Ken Puls
2011-06-03, 07:10 PM
Ouch! LOL!

Simon Lloyd
2011-06-04, 12:56 PM
Haha!, i'm only kidding :D have you seen mine? :)

maninweb
2011-07-11, 05:55 PM
Hi...


...If you'd like to override it for this site, just upload an avatar here and it will use that instead...you can also upload your own avatar I have a question concerning the avatars. When I am going to My settings -> My Profile -> Edit Avatar, I can only choose an avatar from a predefined list. Have I overseen something or am I in the wrong settings section?

Best regards :-)

Simon Lloyd
2011-07-11, 07:32 PM
Nope, you've overlooked nothing :), as you are a new member and not that many posts, your only options are to use a standard avatar provided by us, or have a random gravatar (if you have no avatar) or visit the gravatar site and upload your own or have your own gravatar created via your email address then it will show here and any site that you belong to that has gravatars enabled.

Ken Puls
2011-07-12, 04:46 AM
I have a question concerning the avatars. When I am going to My settings -> My Profile -> Edit Avatar, I can only choose an avatar from a predefined list. Have I overseen something or am I in the wrong settings section?

Really? There's no custom avatar option there?

maninweb
2011-07-12, 08:04 AM
Hi Simon, Hi Ken...

Firstly, thanks for your help :)

I deleted my custom avatar from the predefined list. Refreshing a thread with a post from me shows now the random avatar. I have an account at gravatar.com and I just verified my mail-address and image upload there. @Ken: However my profile does not show an option for using gravatar or uploading my own one; please see picture below. @Simon: how many posts are needed for being allowed to upload an avatar?

Best regards :-)

Simon Lloyd
2011-07-12, 12:11 PM
Your gravatar should be uploaded at gravatar.com or created there, it will then show here, there isn't a facility to upload your gravatar here as such. I'll speak to Ken and see if we can't get a breakdown of account enhancements and their post/membership length thresholds added to the FAQs :)

maninweb
2011-07-12, 12:21 PM
Hi Simon...

thanks for the fast reply; it seems to me, that perhaps gravatar needed some time to update or something similar.

Because now, after 2,5 hours from my last visit, the avatar is shown here. So there is for me no more need to upload my own avatar. Thanks again :)

Best regards :-)

Ken Puls
2011-07-12, 05:11 PM
@Ken: However my profile does not show an option for using gravatar or uploading my own one; please see picture below. @Simon: how many posts are needed for being allowed to upload an avatar?

Should be fixed now. I didn't realize that regular user accounts could not upload custom avatars. I've changed that now.

maninweb
2011-07-12, 05:51 PM
Hi Ken...

thanks, yes, the settings are now available :)

Best regards :-)

Ken Puls
2011-07-12, 05:58 PM
For reference, I may change the way this works later. But till I get there... :)

JYool
2011-08-29, 08:14 PM
not sure if it's from the forum upgrade, but i was able to upload an avatar from my computer, it was unser settings, edit my avatar, and choose custom avatar