PDA

View Full Version : Pivot Table Dropdown Updating on Fly?



Padgoi
2013-04-17, 12:34 AM
Hi All,
I'm in the process of creating a pivot table but I've run into a problem. My pivot table has a drop down menu so I can choose which areas to filter and my pivot table updates accordingly. The problem is, I need the drop down to update on the fly when choosing an option from one of the other filters.

Context: I have two rows of data, one with city and one with country. When I choose the country in one of the drop down filters, I want the city drop down to update accordingly so it only shows those cities in that country and not all of the other cities in other countries. Is there any way I can do this? I'm sure there is, but I have no idea how. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Padgoi
2013-04-17, 02:56 PM
Any help at all would be greatly appreciated for this. Thanks!

JoePublic
2013-04-18, 09:08 AM
I'm afraid that unlike autofilters, the pivot table dropdowns do not respect other filters that are in place.

Herbds7
2013-05-14, 04:47 AM
Excel 2010, PivotTable, Slicer
Slicer will put the applicable cities on top of the list
and gray out the cities that do not belong.
http://58918aa17d4002474361-7ac2b7ee2bc9d74042ff2920135ae995.r25.cf1.rackcdn.com/05_08_13.xlsx
If you get *.zip, don't unzip, just rename *.xlsx

Padgoi
2013-05-14, 09:15 PM
You sir are a God among men. Thank you!!!