Multiple Member Expressions in CubeValue Formula

Charles Banks

Reaction score
What I am trying to do is simplify the formula for multiple member expressions(?) in the CubeValue function. I'm fairly new to Powerpivot so please pardon if I have used the wrong terminology in my title or my examples.

I currently have the following function working and returning the correct results.

Single Selection
  • =CUBEVALUE("PowerPivot Data","[Sum of NetSales]","[xStoreID].[1]","[FiscalPeriod].["&E$56&"]","[FiscalWeek].["&E$57&"]")

What I would like to do is be able to return results from multiple stores without having to use something like the following. Primarily because there are quite a few stores in the list and long formulas are more difficult to troubleshoot and I need to perform the same process for a time component.
=CUBEVALUE("PowerPivot Data","[Sum of NetSales]","[xStoreID].[1]","[FiscalPeriod].["&E$56&"]","[FiscalWeek].["&E$57&"]")​
+CUBEVALUE("PowerPivot Data","[Sum of NetSales]","[xStoreID].[4]","[FiscalPeriod].["&E$56&"]","[FiscalWeek].["&E$57&"]")​

Shouldn't something like the following work.

• =CUBEVALUE("PowerPivot Data","[Sum of NetSales]","[xStoreID].[1]","[StoreID].[2]","[FiscalPeriod].["&E$56&"]","[FiscalWeek].["&E$57&"]")

I'm hoping that I am just missing something from a formatting standpoint that would allow me to select multiple items for the same expression.

Thanks in advance for your time.
Charles

I may also blow this up a bit, but my understanding of the CUBE formulas is that they are intended to essentially drill down into your data based on the additional stipulations you feed them. So end result is that you can drill down to "Sum of NetSales" for a FiscalPeriod and FiscalWeek. At that point, throwing a store on it filters down to that store. I'm not aware of a way to filter to multiple stores though...

You may find this a bit helpful though... you can also break down your CUBEVALUE formula and nest CUBEMEMBERs inside it: